jump to navigation

Should the concept of market failures be taken seriously? Part I april 18, 2008

Posted by Fredrik Gustafsson in Nationalekonomi, _In English_.
trackback

Enda sedan jag skrev klart min doktorsavhandling om marknadsmisslyckanden och industripolitik i den malaysiska palmoljesektorn har jag velat skriva en artikel som tar sig an teorin om marknadsmisslyckanden ur ett klassiskt liberalt perspektiv. Till stor del för att verkligen komma fram till vad jag personligen tycker om marknadsmisslyckanden: om det är någon man behöver bry sig om eller inte. Jag håller för närvarande på att skriva en sådan artikel på engelska, och tanken är att publicera delar av den här på bloggen vartefter jag skriver den, i första hand för att få respons från andra libertarianer. I och med att den inte är klar än kan jag förstås inte säga hur många delar det blir. Men jag börjar med att posta inledningen idag, och så fortsätter jag med bland annat definitionen av marknadsmisslyckanden efter helgen.

Introduction

Among liberty-minded scholars, few concepts carry the same aura of controversy as does the concept of market failure. Some libertarians even take offense to the very idea that the free market can fail. “Fail in comparison to what, the wonders of Soviet-style central planning?” they ask themselves. But who can blame them, given the way the concept of market failures has been used in the past. There in fact seems to be no end to the cases where “market failures”—the idea that the free market cannot be trusted to allocate resources or to generate economic growth—have been used as an excuse for government intervention that has always produced miserable results (except perhaps for the people in power and their cronies).

We have heard it all before. “Some tasks are simply too important to be left to the free market.” “The presence of natural monopolies necessitates regulation.” “Externalities, imperfect information, economies of scale and complementarities all mean that the market will not function efficiently, and the government therefore needs to step in”. And every single time, or at least so it seems, the promise that “everything will turn out for the better if only the government intervenes to resolve these market failures” has failed to produce anything but corruption, financial crisis and inefficient industries that crumble as soon as government support or protection is withdrawn.

Even if we disregard from the seemingly quite awful track record of government intervention designed to fix market failures, one does not have to be a genius to figure out that most arguments in favor resolving market failures through government intervention are also logically flawed to the point of embarrassment. Most of them are based on pure confusion where the “market failures” they refer to are either not market failures at all or could not possibly be fixed through government intervention.

However, if one were to peel off all the nonsense, the logical flaws, the inconsistencies and all the unrealistic assumptions that governments are benign and omniscient, and that markets are totally incapable of self-correction, would there be anything left? Is there anything worth taking seriously in the concept of market failure, or is the very concept so inherently flawed and disconnected from both logics and facts, that we can continue ignoring it. Is there anything in the concept worth salvaging? Is it possible that under some circumstances, in some places and during certain points in time, the free market will fail to generate economic growth and that the government, in these cases, has to intervene for such growth to come about?

This article will argue that it would be a mistake for libertarians, and others, not to take the concept of market failure seriously. True, few concepts have been used so recklessly as market failures. However, this is only in part due to the malicious intent of those who will grasp at any argument that favors an increase in the size of government. The most important reason is instead that market failures is a very difficult concept that few, regardless of their take on government intervention and liberty, seem to grasp.

The purpose of this article is thus to review the concept of market failure and ask a number of important questions. What is a market failure? What does the market fail in relation to? In which different ways can it fail? What can make the market fail? Are there any examples of market failures that may inhibit economic growth and where the government has a reasonable chance to resolve these market failures and thus increase growth by intervening? What would be the answer, if any, to the many different types of critiques against the concept of market failure and other concepts, such as social returns, that it rests on; to the critique that the government is inherently incapable of resolving market failures even if they do exist; that private bargaining will always resolve any and all market failures; and that government intervention that aims to resolve market failures that inhibit growth are in direct violation of private property rights?

Kommentarer»

1. Kaj Grüssner - april 18, 2008

Lovar att bli en intressant artikel. Det lilla jag har läst om olika uppfattningar om markadsmisslyckanden är just det att ordet saknar definition. Av den orsaken har än det ena, än det andra kallats för marknadsmisslyckande.

Min egen ståndpunkt torde vara tämligen klar:

Endast aktörer kan misslyckas. Marknaden är ingen aktör. Ergo, marknaden kan inte misslyckas.

Vad gäller den lite nyanserade frågan huruvida marknaden kan misslyckas med att allokera resurser på ”rätt sätt”. Själva frågeställningen är ologisk. På en fri marknad kommer resurserna att allokeras enligt individernas preferenser. Preferenser är det samma som värderingar och värderingar kan varken vara rätt eller fel. Det är således från början omöjligt att avgöra vad som är ”rätt” allokering av resurserna. Det är dessutom omöjligt att fastställa vilken ekonomisk tillväxt allokering X hade lett till jämfört med allokering Y.

Det är just denna omöjlighet som gör att central planering alltid misslyckas. Samma omöjlighet renderar uttrycket ”marknadsmisslyckande” betydelselöst.

Men jag ser fram emot att läsa resten av din artikel. Kanske det slutar med att jag ändrar min uppfattning i den här frågan 🙂

2. Fredrik Gustafsson - april 18, 2008

I och med att nästa punkt är definitionen av marknadsmisslyckanden kommer vi rätt snart in i hetluften. Jag anser att det finns svar på dina frågor. Det som plågar mig är om det kan vara legitimt (ur både ett moraliskt och effektivitetssynpunkt) för staten att intervenera. Får som sagt se var artikeln hamnar till slut 🙂

3. Kaj Grüssner - april 18, 2008

Oroa dig inte, jag och Chöb kommer nog att stilla dina plågor genom att visa att statlig intervention aldrig på något sätt kan vara legitimt 😉

4. . - april 18, 2008

Jag är inte särskilt duktig på engelska och får väl knappast kalla mig libertarian heller men dels vet jag vet hur svårt det är att se egna ”grodor” eftersom man alltid blir hemmablind när man skriver och dels har jag svårt att inte lägga mig i (som ni kanske märkt).

Utan att på något sätt kritisera och definitivt inte försöka argumentera (för vad gäller detta ämne är hal is närmast att betrakta som kontaktlim under mina 44:or) dristar jag mig ändå till att påpeka sådant jag inte förstår (det är förmodligen rätt ändå) samt ställa lite frågor så kanske jag kan lära mig något i farten. Blir jag för onödig så säg bara till men jag kan inte låta bli att försöka rätta en doktor, tänk om jag får nåt rätt 😉 .

“Even if we disregard from the seemingly quite awful track record of government intervention designed to fix market failures,”

Jag skulle ta bort “from” då jag finner det aningen svengelskt

“Most of them are based on pure confusion where the “market failures” they refer to are either not market failures at all or could not possibly be fixed through government intervention.”

Jag fattar nog vad du säger men inte är det lätt.

Ser fram emot din diskussion om marknadsmisslyckanden, tänkte du inte ta med något specifikt exempel i texten får du gärna göra det i en kommentar om du har lust.

5. Fredrik Gustafsson - april 19, 2008

”Dristar jag mig ändå till att påpeka sådant jag inte förstår (det är förmodligen rätt ändå) samt ställa lite frågor så kanske jag kan lära mig något i farten”

Låter bra, det är precis det jag är ute efter. Jag försöker skriva denna artikel så att även folk som inte har en doktorsexamen i ekonomi skall kunna läsa den, så dylika kommentarer är extra värdefulla.

”men jag kan inte låta bli att försöka rätta en doktor, tänk om jag får nåt rätt”

Det har hänt mången gång tidigare, så omöjligt är det inte 🙂

”Jag skulle ta bort “from” då jag finner det aningen svengelskt”

Hm, du har nog rätt, trots att det inte låter bra i mina öron att ta bort from.

6. Jakob Lundberg - april 19, 2008

För den bokkäre kan jag rekommendera ”Efficiency and Externalities in an Open-Ended Universe” av Roy Cordato.

http://mises.org/books/efficiencyexternalities.pdf

7. lucas - april 19, 2008

Mycket välskrivet får jag säga, det skall bli intressant att läsa fortsättningen.

I fjärde stycket saknas ett ”be”: […]and that markets are totally incapable of self-correction, would there [be] anything left?


Kommentera

